Smithsonian Anacostia Museum and Center for African American History and Culture
All the Stories Are True

Octavia E. Butler

Octavia Estelle Butler was born in 1947 in Pasadena, California. She attended Pasadena City College, California State University, and the University of California at Los Angeles. An award-winning science fiction writer, she has published eleven novels (the five-volume Patternist series, the Xenogenesis trilogy [also issued as Lilith’s Brood], Parable of the Sower, and its sequel, Parable of the Talents). Butler has also published a book of stories, Bloodchild and Other Stories. Her work draws on African American history, future studies, and explorations of alien nature and psychology. She has received the Nebula and Hugo awards for her work. She won a MacArthur Fellowship in 1995 and in 2000 received a lifetime achievement award in writing from PEN.

Visit Octavia E. Butler on the Web

E Ethelbert Miller
Valerie Boyd
Dolores Kendrick
Kenneth Carroll
Octavia E Butler
Samuel R Delany
Walter Dean Myers
Eloise Greenfield
Edwidge Danticat

Photograph by Octavia M. Butler
Charles Johnson

      Download Windows Media Player        


Exhibition Materials



Supplemental Materials

Childhood Imagination

Private Space Versus Public Space